A Team well-blended

The story that started with a short poem on a brief, promising encounter between two youngsters now seems to be evolving into something more. I was reading and discussing my recently shared poem ‘The sad, cute Yeti’ and its sequel ‘Cruel, Charming Recluse Thief’ with some very wonderful friends of mine and it was fantastic. During the discussion, thanks to some of the great insights from my friends, it occurred to me that the story can be continued further and the result is here for … whoever’s reading this … I guess.

But first a little primer. I have experimented a bit with this one. As the first and second parts described the encounter from the perspectives of the heroine and hero, respectively; this part incorporates the perspectives of both of them in an innovative or, dare I say, peculiar way. The italicized lines convey the heroine’s perspective while the lines in bold font convey the hero’s perspective. Some of the lines towards the end are bold italicized so as to convey the common perspective of the two. This signifies the growing bond between the two. So without further ado, read along…

A Team well-blended

With that laddish gait, that dapper attire,
The tilak scarlet, with pitaambar on fire.

Organizing the affairs, he roams around,
Towards me he comes, and utters some sounds.
Decoration’s about to finish, I reply and I nod,
Chief Guest’s about to arrive, says he, and smiles broad.

I am giddy at this chance, to know him some more,
Excitement coursing through me, like waves crash on a shore.
Successful, the event is, and we are commended,
Tuneful, our coordination, like a team well-blended.

Her graceful gait, and elegant, dainty attire,
Fragrant Gajraa scarlet, innocence pure as fire.

Busy and entranced, I roam around,
Brain alert, Heart lost, tuning out sounds.
Relentlessly I am teased, by my mates who noticed,
I can only grumble, while they feel very pleased.

For this chance, I’m grateful, to know her some more,
As I can now nurture, the connect I feel and adore.
Doubtful still, she seems, but more the time we spend,
Trustful, I am, of the joys we may ascend.

We had to stay late, to wrap up the place,
A few, his mates, others my friends, no less
Finally, the work is done, everyone’s now gone
We two now alone, she suppresses her yawn.

Streets are empty, and for her, I am wary,
Times not aplenty, my hostel afar, the route scary
He offers to walk me, groggily I accept
Air’s a bit nippy, to her hostel we go direct.

We are here, smiling at each-other,
Goodbyes we utter, each lost in the other.
We make a good team, we say to each-other
Potential up to brim, discover we can, together.

A sapling to be tended, with emotions sweet-scented
With friendship extended, shall make a team well-blended

– Nimitta

Here are the first and second parts of this poem.

Leave a comment